News > Hoops Hall Gains New Members

Hoops Hall Gains New Members
 by Joe Versage
 photo by Tim Irving
[Hoops Hall Gains New Members]
Jeff Van Gundy (left) was guest speaker.

On Saturday, November 9th, 2002, Section V inducted 17 new members into its Basketball Hall of Fame.

The honorees included 1946 Madison High Grad Mauro Pannagio. A standout player in high school and college, Pannagio went on to coach the Rochester Zeniths and still holds the record for most victories in the Continental Basketball Association.

Greg Woodard went from a stellar high school career at McQuaid to college success at Villanova. As a sophomore with the Knights (1985-86), he played for coach Jeff Van Gundy.

Van Gundy was on hand as the evening’s guest speaker. The former Brockport High and Nazareth College star spent one year at McQuaid before Joe Marchese took over. Van Gundy later went on to serve as head coach of the NBA’s New York Knicks.

Red Jacket's Beth Record also was honored. Record remains Section V girl's basketball's all-time leading scorer. She went on to star at Syracuse University and currently plays professionally in Turkey.

The Fitches of Fairport were the center of attention. Jeff served as long-time coach of the Fairport Red Raiders. In 33 seasons, he won 406 games, nine coach of the year honors and one sectional title.

Joining his Jeff Fitch in the hall is his son Scott, a standout guard in high school who went on to become Division III's Player of the Year at Geneseo. Last year, he replaced Jeff as the Fairport boy's coach.

Others honored included:

Former East High star Mark Jones, a winner of back to back sectional titles.

Al Masino, one of East’s other all-time greats, who led the Orientals to the 1946 championship.

The late Doug Westcott. A three-sport star at Brockport in the 1950's, he later became the school's athletic director and served as Section V's Chairman.

Geneva all-state star Tyrone Scott. A first-team All-State pick, he also had a successful career at Boston College.

Victor high school coach and former Red Jacket star Courtney Romeiser.

Pittford's Charlie Miller, a two-time sectional winner, who later developed the current Section V seeding format.

Clyde Savannah and University of Kansas men's basketball star Terry Brown.

Dundee great Kate Cronin, a three-time All Greater Rochester selection, who starred at the Vermont University and professionally in Spain.

Sodus stars Amy Fowler and Debbie Hopkins, both of whom went on to earn Empire State Game Gold Medals.

Long-time Section V official and one-time president, David Doyle.

And last, but certainly not least, Cuba's Gordan Enderle, New York State’s “Small School Player of the Year” in 1979.