News  > Boys' Varsity - Mike Ruff (1975) Inducted into Section V Hall of Fame




Section V Hall honors Boeheim

Democrat and Chronicle

(September 17, 2003) — Jim Boeheim, coach of the 2003 NCAA champion Syracuse Orangemen and a 1962 graduate of Lyons High School, leads the fourth class of inductees into the Section V Basketball Hall of Fame.

Boeheim, who has a 653-226 record in 27 seasons at Syracuse, will be joined by 15 other inductees Saturday, Nov. 8, at the Clarion Riverside Hotel, 120 E. Main St.

Tickets for the induction are $27, or $250 for a table of 10, and can be purchased by phone at (585) 594-5988.

The class of 2003:


Mary Ellen Burt, Webster: An all-Monroe County selection in field hockey, volleyball, basketball and softball at Webster Thomas, she received a scholarship to USC in the late 1970s.

Chris Fox, McQuaid: The three-time All-Greater Rochester center used his shooting touch to win MVP state tournament honors in 1995 and 1997.

Bettina Love, Edison: A three-time All-Greater Rochester pick, she averaged 31.6 ppg. as a senior, scoring 49 in a 65-64 loss to Athena.

Gina Montesano, Mercy: A scoring machine, she was the AGR Player of the Year in both soccer (41 goals) and basketball (23 ppg.) as a senior.

Andy Moore, Cuba: He teamed with Gordon Enderle to lead Cuba to the 1979 state title.

Amy Reynders, Aquinas: An all-around player who went on to Rutgers, Reynders was AGR Player of the Year in 1992.

Rob Rose, Cardinal Mooney: After leading Mooney to its last Section V title, the smooth Rose played at George Mason and had a long pro career overseas.

Mike Ruff, Fairport: An outstanding playmaker for Jeff Fitch, he was MVP as Fairport won the Section V title in 1975.

Alicia Sheeler, Pittsford Mendon: A big player with a soft shooting touch, she led Mendon to three straight Section V titles and set school career records for points, rebounds and blocked shots.

Claude Williams, Charlotte: A two-time All-Greater Rochester forward, he led the Lakesiders to a state title before playing at North Carolina A&T and in European pro ball.


Doug Farrell, Cardinal Mooney/IAABO Board 60: A member of the first All-Greater Rochester basketball team in 1967, he played at Niagara before becoming a top area coach and official.


John Baynes Sr., East Rochester: He helped turn ER into the Home of Champions with a 200-106 record, Section V titles in 1959, 1961 and 1962 (a double overtime victory over Jim Boeheim’s undefeated Lyons team), four undefeated regular seasons and 11 Monroe County titles.

Richard Blackwell, Lyons: He built a powerhouse in Wayne County during the 1950s and ’60s, winning Section V titles in 1952 and 1954 and coaching Boeheim along the way. He was 210-80 from 1951 to 1966.

Gordon Joseph, Bloomfield: Section V coach of the year in his class five times and All-Greater Rochester coach in 1977, he led Bloomfield teams to three Section V titles, in 1976, 1977 and 1978. He was 421-179 in a career from 1961 to 1991.

Bill O’Rourke Sr., Webster: He won 343 games and lost just 193 from 1950 to 1978 before handing over the reins to son Bill Jr. His 1961 Section V championship team, with the late Jim Cripps, John Ladwig, Harvey Cain and Winston Hatt, is considered one of the all-time best in Section V.